top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIn Every Thought

Story of House of Israel-Part 2


Days 3 & 4

We watched Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Joseph and the Technicolor Dream Coat on YouTube. I originally just planned on showing them the “Jacob and Sons” song to introduce the 12 tribes but we just kept watching the next song on the playlist until we watched the whole movie. 🤦🏼‍♀️ I would recommend skipping the song with Potiphar's wife. 😬

I also love the movie "Joseph: King of Dreams" which is made by the same producers as "Prince of Egypt". The music is beautiful. This is one of my favorite songs.


You can find the whole movie on Netflix. I highly recommend it.

I explained that God changed Jacob's name to Israel and that anciently "house" meant family so the House of Israel is the family of Jacob: the twelve tribes and their families. They are also known as the "Israelites" in the scriptures.


Next we used the free workbook pages from The Duet Podcast to copy the names of each tribe and draw their flags which are in The Millennial Instructor. As we drew each flag I read the blessing that Jacob gave to that particular son. You can read the blessings in the book or in Genesis 49.

We did this over 2 days. Remember there are 12 flags.

Below is my 5 year old’s page. She has been an “all CAPS” writer until we started this unit and now she’s really working on those lower case letters and trying to be more careful in her drawing. I think because we draw side by side she watches me and models my detailed drawing and neat handwriting. I doubt she would have been as motivated and intentional had I left her to do it on her own. Also, I should tell you my 3 year old just scribbled er... colored whatever page he wanted. But he enjoyed being with us.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page